top of page
Search
  • oliviacollett846

Interdisciplinary Interaction Design Response

While reading the the Interdisciplinary Interaction Design writing I found myself drawing several connections to the things I interact with everyday. The biggest connection I found was to Adobe Illustrator and Photoshop in regard to the way each of them function. Although they are not games, Adobe applications utilize all four of the presented control types. Within the design interface you can observe a majority of input and display based controls with the occasional action and selection-based controls. Regardless of their variability, these controls are designed to be recognizable and easy to use. Thinking back to my own experiences with these applications, I can quickly recall which controls align with certain actions based on the function of the control. Another thing that stuck out to me from the reading was the Geon Theory. This theory was developed by Dr. Irving Biederman and states that "we recognize and break down objects we see into a basic group of shapes." I recognized this concept in the way that the Adobe tool icons look. There are several different control features that all have minimal yet informative icons. The icons are designed using the positive and negative areas of simple shapes. The last concept from the reading that stood out to me was gamification. I was aware of this idea but had never heard of its name. From the explanation provided in the reading, I recognized a couple ways teachers had used gamification to create a fun learning environment. One example of this is kahoot. This platform allows teachers to turn class material into a trivia game where students can compete against each other. Another example that involves learning is quizlet. The introduction of the meteor game made studying difficult concepts easier and enjoyable. The use of gamification can turn mundane tasks into something that is lively and fun. In all, it was interesting to learn more about interactive design functions as I could see myself using them in my future artistic endeavors.

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Typographic Hierarchy

The article about structuring typographic hierarchy was both interesting and helpful. When thinking of typographic hierarchy in general,...

Comments


bottom of page